The Charles Theatre is located at 1711 N. Charles Street, less than two blocks north of Penn Station in beautiful Baltimore, MD.
Parking is available across the street in the lot and garage. It is $3 for 3 hours. Street parking may also be available.
$10.00 Matinees (all shows before 2:30 pm)
$9.00 Matinee group rate (25+)
$12.00 Regular admission
$11.00 Group rate (25+)
$10.00 Senior Discount
The Charles Theatre box office accepts cash, checks and credit cards.
Gift cards are available for purchase at our box office which opens daily at 1pm or we also offer eGift cards here.
We have hearing devices available at the customer’s request, and we are also fully equipped with closed-captioning and audio narration devices.
Group rates (for 25 people or more) are available. We also offer theatre lobby rentals for independent filmmakers, fund-raisers, weddings, and parties. Please call 410-727-3464 or e-mail [email protected] for more information.
Join Our Team!
Click HERE to complete and submit your employment application.
Here at The Charles we pledge to be #CinemaSafe. Find out more about our new health and safety protocols at www.CinemaSafe.org.
The 108-year-old structures which house The Charles boast a rich history. Designed in 1892 by architect Jackson C. Gott for the Baltimore Traction Company, the Beaux-Arts buildings were originally designed to be a cable car barn (north side) and a powerhouse (south side). The buildings served as cable car facilities for four years after which they became a streetcar barn, a bus barn, a library for the blind, and the Famous Ballroom. In 1939, the Times Theatre opened on the site as Baltimore’s first all-newsreel movie house. The theater was re-named the Charles circa 1959 and became a calendar revival house in 1979. The Charles remained a single-screen theater until 1999, when a dramatic expansion was completed to accommodate four additional screening rooms. The new five-screen Charles has a spacious, comfortable lobby and the four new screening rooms have stadium seating. The original auditorium still has 485 seats and has been altered only slightly.